Posted by: Christine L. | March 10, 2010

chronic bronchitis

Well, it seems I have chronic bronchitis, since I get this two or three times a year.  So I’m looking for ways to live with this and ease the symptoms as much as possible.

One thing I’m doing is drinking more water.  I really hate doing that, too, because it means I’ll be spending a lot more quality time in L.A.’s finest bathrooms.  But you know, you gotta do what you gotta do.

Maybe I should start a web page reviewing public restrooms!  (Hey, I’d bookmark that, wouldn’t you?)

Another thing I need to do is stop feeling guilty when I don’t exercise.  Being fat all my life, I tend to treat exercise as medicine, rather than fun.  It’s something I “have to do” in order to keep my weight at a manageable level.

And actually, most of the time I enjoy it.  In fact, last year, before I was downsized, I bought myself a 24 Hour Fitness membership – the two-year cheapie Costco kind.  It was a great investment, because I enjoy going there, but I know from past experience that two years is about my limit with any particular exercise program.  By the time 2012 rolls around, I’ll be ready to try something else.

(And if we don’t make it through 2012, that works too!)

But the problem is when my bronchitis is really acting up, I don’t know what I should do.  Should I continue going to the gym 3 times a week, to stay in the habit?  Or should I stay home and rest on the couch?  Not that I don’t enjoy doing the Peggy Bundy thing, but because I spent $$ on the gym membership, I  feel like I’m wasting money every day I  don’t go.

On the other hand, if I don’t rest, and I push myself too hard, I could get sicker.

What to do?  I know, I can walk outdoors.  But right now it’s just too cold, and cold weather is really bad for my lungs as well.

I think my best hope is to pray for an early and long summer!  Hot weather, where are you?

Leave a Reply

Categories

