Posted by: stoogeswoman | February 17, 2010

diamonds

This will be a short post because my husband is in the shower, and once he’s out, he’ll want to get online.

I do have my own computer – it’s a laptop, and it’s out in my office – aka the tool shed.

And I do love to go outside and walk alllllll the way through the back yard to the shed, and turn on my very own computer, and sit and listen to the birds sing while I surf the Net.

However, it’s COLD this morning – 41 degrees, brrr.  I know to about 95% of the people in the U.S. that would be super-warm right now and they’d scorn me and my thin blood.   But nevertheless, I don’t like to set naked, bare foot outside the house till the  temp is at least 60.

And I do like to go out barefoot.  It’s always been my favorite thing, to get up early in the morning and go outside and feel the dew on my bare feet.  I’m going to be 52 years old this year, and going barefoot outside is one of those things that make me feel like a kid.

I remember going outside early one morning, when I was about five years old.  The sun was just beginning to rise, and the grass was covered with dew.  It sparkled in the light, just like diamonds.  I squealed with delighted laughter because I thought I was rich.

Diamonds!  Diamonds everywhere!

When my husband gave me my engagement ring, it sparkled in the light, just like the dew on that long-ago morning.   And the sun is just beginning to rise, and I hold my ring up in front of the window, and there they are.

Diamonds.  Diamonds everywhere.

Nice. But I don’t squeal with delight. Though I do love the ring, I kind of miss the dew.

Leave a Reply

Categories

